Energy Transition: archive
Every Energy Transition story in Infrastructure, newest first. 515 stories
2 stories
LS Electric secures $138.5m Bloom order for Pennsylvania data center switchgear
Deliveries of 38kV switchgear and distribution transformers are expected from April to July next year, per Data Center Dynamics.
Akamai signs 13MW Singapore rooftop solar vPPA with EDP Asia-Pacific
All 27 sites are already operating and can generate up to 17,000MWh a year.
4 stories
Interior Department wants to reevaluate approval for operating Revolution Wind
The review follows the administration's halt of construction at offshore wind farms and canceled leases for future projects, Canary Media reported.
FERC approves Duke Energy Carolinas large-load rules with 15-year revenue terms
New or transferred large loads must pay a committed revenue contribution equal to 75% of the megawatt value in the load schedule for 15 years.
Solar industry spends to flip control of Georgia's utility commission, Canary Media reports
Georgia's utility commission determines how much residents' energy bills rise, and it is among the few where party control could flip in November.
Qcells aims to build world's first big factory for next-generation tandem solar
Canary Media reports the U.S. solar manufacturer is targeting tandem panels that pair silicon cells with additional layers.
2 stories
RWE pays EUR 3.6bn to raise Amprion stake
Renewables Now reported the increase on June 23, 2026.
Flexbase and Erne plan 500 MW redox-flow battery in Switzerland
Renewables Now reported the plan on Sept. 23, 2024.
1 story
Greenvolt secures UniCredit debt for 400 MW Polish battery portfolio
Renewables Now reported the financing on Aug. 27; facility size, tenor and project locations were not disclosed.
1 story
PJM approves 2.1 GW of Engie storage and LS Power gas uprate
PJM expects the approved projects online by mid-2029; the expedited track that cleared them expires at the end of 2027.
1 story
Four-hour storage undercuts gas peakers on cost in global markets, Wood Mackenzie says
In the US, four-hour storage for a 2026 commercial operation date is 65% to 75% cheaper than new open-cycle gas peakers, depending on whether state-level carbon pricing applies.
5 stories
Renew Home rebrands as Everyday Electric, launches whole-home virtual power plant
CEO Ben Brown says the VPP can reduce the need for new centralized generation and lower costs for all ratepayers; expected capacity and payments were not disclosed.
Virginia lieutenant governor opposes NextEra-Dominion merger as hearings open
Hashmi's report cites NextEra's project-entity structure and data center cost risk; NextEra says Dominion Energy Virginia would stay locally led and fully regulated.
Constellation signs 890-MW Google nuclear PPA as PJM backstop stalls
The 20-year agreement and a companion Amazon contract support almost 1.1 GW of expansion at existing reactors, with no price disclosed.
Morven offshore wind begins a third consultation on its connection
The Renewables Now report names the milestone but carries no capacity, owner, connection point or schedule.
Connecticut's 63.4-MW solar plan draws utility skepticism on offtake
Canary Media reports a major utility's reluctance to buy power from some projects is raising questions about Connecticut's 63.4-megawatt solar plan.
6 stories
Maryland awards 440 MW in first storage round, 360 MW below its target
The commission declined a 500-MW project and a 135-MW Chalk Point expansion while saying Flatiron may reapply and inviting Oystercatcher into round two.
Google signs two Constellation contracts totaling 3.6GW; 890MW nuclear PPA funds $4.3B in uprates
A 20-year nuclear contract covers 890MW and enables $4.3 billion of Constellation equipment spending at 11 units; a 15-year agreement buys 2.7GW across PJM.
MISO asks FERC to approve penalty-free queue exits by Oct. 19
The filing would let 2022-cycle projects withdraw without penalty until Decision Point II on Oct. 20 and lift the network-upgrade cost trigger for later exits to 50%.
DOE offers Vistra a conditional $4.2 billion loan for 433 MW of nuclear uprates
The commitment would fund uprates at Perry, Davis-Besse and Beaver Valley tied to Vistra's 2.6 GW Meta agreement and preserve roughly 4 GW of PJM nuclear, with funding awaiting technical, legal, environmental and financial conditions.
ComEd to file virtual power plant framework beyond batteries by 2027
The Illinois utility's approved scheduled-dispatch program pays battery owners for capacity made available during certain peak periods; the broader filing could add EVs and smart appliances.
Enagas Emprende takes a stake in Spanish hydrogen software startup digHy with no terms disclosed
The Renewables Now report dated 6 October names the investor and the Spanish startup but gives no sum, shareholding or instrument.
6 stories
Virginia examiner orders Dominion to produce FPL memo in NextEra merger case
Clean Virginia and the Piedmont Environmental Council sought the document in discovery, while Dominion argued the political record has nothing to do with the merger.
Amazon and Constellation sign 20-year nuclear power purchase agreement for 690 MW at Calvert Cliffs
The agreement covers 690 MW from the 1,790-MW Maryland plant, including 190 MW from an uprate the contract is backing, plus a separate retail supply deal for Amazon's PJM operations.
Jera, Dell and Rhaelm sign MoU for 400MW AI campus at Chiba gas plant
Apollo Global Management backs the first project, with operations targeted in or around 2028 and an estimated $15 billion across all phases.
Utility Dive publishes sponsored report on hidden grid capacity and $100 billion savings claim
The piece, labeled a sponsorship, cites NERC's consumption projection and an estimate of more than $100 billion in decade-long savings that the passage attributes only to recent analysis.
Origin Energy plans to scale Eraring battery storage to 8.6 GWh
Renewables Now reports the capacity target; no cost, schedule, or counterparty is disclosed in the available text.
GenusPlus wins a USD 94m construction contract on an Australian wind farm
A Renewables Now report gives the price but no project name, capacity, developer or grid arrangements.
3 stories
NYPA will own 51% of 240-MW Rich Road Solar with EDF as minority partner
The St. Lawrence County project pairs a 20-year REC contract with a public majority owner and leaves the certificate price unstated.
Ocean Breeze to take over Germany's first offshore wind farm with no price named
Renewables Now's item names a buyer and an asset, and the text that surfaced with it carries no capacity, price or structure.
EDP begins repowering work on an 18-MW wind farm in Portugal
The Renewables Now item gives only the capacity and start of work; no site, cost, offtake or completion date.
9 stories
USDA rule change effectively ends REAP solar grants for farmers
The withdrawn federal share pushes on-farm solar toward sponsors that can carry the full construction cost.
Newsom signs California energy-affordability bills to expand virtual power plants
The signed package includes two virtual-power-plant bills framed around containing utility spending, but Canary Media's reporting does not name the bills or attach a capacity figure.
Levi's, Marks & Spencer launch Fashion Renewable Collective with Schneider Electric
The Fashion Renewable Collective offers suppliers access to PPAs, certificates and storage, but the launch announcement omits dollar commitments or contracted volume.
German renewables hit a record 60.7% share of power use in first nine months
Renewables Now reports the consumption-share figure; the headline carries no breakdown by technology, owner or price.
Apex secures financing for 150-MW Illinois solar project, with no terms disclosed
Renewables Now reports the 150-MW Illinois project without naming lenders, financing amount, or offtake counterparty.
Utilize Coalition proposes two grid-utilization metrics before Dominion and Appalachian Power's Oct. 15 filings
Dominion Energy and Appalachian Power must submit proposed utilization metrics to the Virginia State Corporation Commission by Oct. 15 under Virginia's April legislation.
Valar Atomics proposes 456-reactor SMR data center campus in Utah
The Project Beehive filing covers more than 9,000 acres near Price and targets a first reactor in 2028, with no offtake customer named in the coverage.
Apex Clean Energy and Meta enter a Texas solar PPA; terms are not stated
Canary Media's account frames the contract against Meta's continuing gas use, and gives no capacity, term or price.
Globeleq reaches financial close on 40-MW Zambian solar, price undisclosed
The report names capacity and country but no construction cost, lender, tariff or offtaker.