Skip to content
Monday, November 2, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETMon, Nov 2 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in
AnalysisPrivate CreditThe WrapThe State of Private Credit

Barings urges insurers to revisit IG CLO allocations

Benefit Street closed a $1.1 billion CRE CLO and Sycamore Tree closed a $504 million CLO of US syndicated loans.

At a glance

  1. A senior tranche that ties up less regulatory capital can clear at a thinner spread and still earn the same return on the balance-sheet dollar behind it.
  2. Benefit Street Partners closed its fifth CRE CLO of 2026 at $1.1 billion with a 30-month reinvestment period.
  3. For allocators, ACORE Capital's second opportunistic credit fund closed at $1.1 billion with $400 million, about 36%, already across 14 investments, showing deployment matters more than fund size.

Barings is urging insurers to revisit their investment-grade CLO allocations, arguing that European and US rule changes will make senior tranches more capital efficient for insurance balance sheets. A senior tranche that ties up less regulatory capital can clear at a thinner spread and still earn the same return on the balance-sheet dollar behind it.

Benefit Street Partners closed its fifth CRE CLO of 2026 at $1.1 billion with a 30-month reinvestment period. It is the third CLO drawn from the firm's Opportunistic Debt Fund II, and the reinvestment period lets the vehicle keep buying commercial real estate loans after the close.

For allocators, ACORE Capital's second opportunistic credit fund closed at $1.1 billion with $400 million, about 36%, already across 14 investments, showing deployment matters more than fund size. A reinvestment period like Benefit Street's sets how long a closed vehicle keeps buying, so the two $1.1 billion vehicles answer different due-diligence questions.

Sycamore Tree closed a $504 million CLO of US syndicated loans, Alternatives Watch reported in its Oct. 27 roundup. Terms beyond size and collateral were not disclosed. The collateral separates it from Benefit Street's deal: syndicated corporate loans rather than commercial mortgages.

Deer Park Road launched its second non-agency RMBS fund, following a $168 million first fund whose investment period ends in June 2027. Target size and fee were not disclosed.

Two $1.1 billion funds, two different bets

Two closed vehicles compared on size, capital deployed and collateral, as disclosed

Benefit Street

$1.1B

Vehicle
Fifth CRE CLO of 2026
Reinvestment period
30 months
Drawn from
Opportunistic Debt Fund II
Collateral
Commercial real estate loans

ACORE Capital

$1.1B

Vehicle
Second opportunistic credit fund
Deployed
$400M
Investments
14
Share deployed
About 36%
Source: Company reports
Show as table
Benefit StreetACORE Capital
Figure$1.1B$1.1B
VehicleFifth CRE CLO of 2026Second opportunistic credit fund
Reinvestment period30 months
Drawn fromOpportunistic Debt Fund II
CollateralCommercial real estate loans
Deployed$400M
Investments14
Share deployedAbout 36%

Reported by The Wrap desk from week coverage: Barings tells insurers to review IG CLO allocations, week coverage: Benefit Street Partners closes fifth CRE CLO of 2026, week coverage: ACORE Capital closes second opportunistic credit fund, Alternatives Watch and week coverage: Deer Park Road launches second non-agency RMBS fund. Published . Corrections

Private Wealth Daily member access

Continue this analysis

Get the complete Private Credit analysis and every detail that follows.

Enter a valid work email to continue reading.

Private Credit Daily, from Private Wealth Daily. Unsubscribe anytime.

Full featuresIn-depth analysis and exclusive reporting.
Source-backed contextEvidence, context and the complete story.
One login across the networkAccess every Daily Network publication.

Related

Private Credit

Sycamore Tree closes $504 million CLO of U.S. syndicated loans

Alternatives Watch reported the close in its Oct. 27 roundup, and terms beyond size and collateral were not disclosed.

Private Credit

Benefit Street Partners closes fifth CRE CLO of 2026 at $1.1 billion

The 30-month reinvestment period lets the vehicle keep adding CRE loans after closing, and it is the third CLO from BSP's Opportunistic Debt Fund II.

Private Credit

ACORE Capital closes second opportunistic credit fund at $1.1bn

The commercial real estate manager has already put $400 million of the fund to work across 14 investments.

Private Credit

Allocators told to screen ABF managers by origination history

One speaker split managers into house money and tilt money as the asset-backed finance market grows crowded.

Private Credit

Proskauer: sub-$25m EBITDA defaults rise to 2.2%

The 746-loan index shows the largest loans falling to 1.7% while the overall default rate sits at 2.41%.

From other sections

Barings urges insurers to revisit IG CLO allocations