Skip to content
Thursday, October 29, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETThu, Oct 29 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in
PWD View, OpinionThe CloseThe Close

Carlyle takes a minority stake in Prime Capital Financial, where 170 advisors own equity

Prime Capital reports $52 billion in AUM and 225 advisors, up from 40 since its 2017 buyout from founder Kerry Lawing.

At a glance

  1. Prime Capital's advisor count has grown from 40 to 225 since its 2017 buyout from founder Kerry Lawing, according to chief executive Glenn Spencer.
  2. Spencer cites equity ownership when describing that growth.
  3. The reporting does not state the price, size or intended use of Carlyle's investment.

Carlyle is taking a minority stake in Prime Capital Financial, a $52 billion RIA where 170 advisors already own equity.

Prime Capital's advisor count has grown from 40 to 225 since its 2017 buyout from founder Kerry Lawing, according to chief executive Glenn Spencer. Spencer cites equity ownership when describing that growth. The reporting does not specify whether the 170 equity holders are among the 225 advisors.

The reporting does not state the price, size or intended use of Carlyle's investment.

Reported by PWD Editors from PWD coverage: Prime Capital brings in Carlyle as minority investor; 170 advisors own equity and PWD tracked activity log. Published . Corrections

Related

PWD View, OpinionThe Close

JPMorgan asset and wealth revenue rises 14% to $6.9 billion

JPMorgan's 14% gain came with matching expense growth, so its expense-to-revenue ratio held steady, while the other three banks reported wealth revenue growth of 12% to 15%.

Allocators

Prime Capital sells governance to small endowments

Mark Hays, late of Glenmede and Cambridge, gets a platform to build a $5M-$250M nonprofit practice backed by a 70-location RIA.

Moves

Prime Capital hires Glenmede veteran to open endowment unit

Mark Hays comes aboard as president of a new practice built for nonprofits holding $5 million to $250 million, the slice of the OCIO market Cerulli expects to produce $1.3 trillion in first-time adoption.

PWD View, OpinionThe Close

Private credit fundraising falls 48% while hard assets gain 39%

Credit interval fund repurchases absorbed 79% of gross sales, and credit tender-offer fund net sales fell 15% to $1.8 billion, Stanger data show.

The Close

UBS and Ameriprise add advisor retention bonuses for 2026-27

Louis Diamond says paying a group to stay before it leaves differs from deferred compensation, and other firms may follow.

Private Wealth DailyThe morning edition

The private wealth industry in four minutes, every morning at 6:30 a.m. ET. Free.

Free. Every morning. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections