Skip to content
Thursday, October 29, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETThu, Oct 29 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in
AnalysisDeals & PEthe-ledger

Concurrent buys Spire's 30-plus teams in first RIA platform deal

The asset purchase adds about $5.4 billion and lifts Concurrent to $28.6 billion, with no purchase price disclosed.

At a glance

  1. The number of teams arriving at once is why the platform label matters: a buyer taking on 30-odd teams gets a recruiting pipeline, practices already used to someone else's compliance and technology, and clients it can eventually move onto its own, whereas a buyer paying for one large book gets a book.
  2. The Spire group amounts to almost a fifth of Concurrent's assets, and under $180 million a team is the arithmetic of breadth rather than of concentration.
  3. HB Wealth Management closed its purchase of Wealth Care, an Austin RIA with about $700 million in assets, on Sept. 30, lifting the firm to its seventh market with terms not disclosed; the team coming over spans two generations and serves physicians.

Concurrent closed its first purchase of an entire RIA platform, an asset purchase that brings more than 30 advisor teams and about $5.4 billion in client assets from Spire Investment Partners and lifts the firm to $28.6 billion; no purchase price appears in the coverage. The number of teams arriving at once is why the platform label matters: a buyer taking on 30-odd teams gets a recruiting pipeline, practices already used to someone else's compliance and technology, and clients it can eventually move onto its own, whereas a buyer paying for one large book gets a book.

The Spire group amounts to almost a fifth of Concurrent's assets, and under $180 million a team is the arithmetic of breadth rather than of concentration. That reading is inference rather than disclosure, and the transaction's shape fits two other wealth-management deals reported alongside it.

HB Wealth Management closed its purchase of Wealth Care, an Austin RIA with about $700 million in assets, on Sept. 30, lifting the firm to its seventh market with terms not disclosed; the team coming over spans two generations and serves physicians. A firm with seven markets has seven places to put an advisor it recruits, which is not the same asset as a larger book in a market it already covers.

Hightower agreed to buy Sandy Cove, a $752 million firm, for its W-2 channel, where advisers sit on the payroll rather than running independent practices; the agreement would lift Hightower Signature Wealth past $40 billion, would be the channel's third external acquisition this year, and would add Sandy Cove under 2 percent of the assets the channel would hold afterward. What Hightower is buying there is a repeatable way to add advisers.

Concurrent's deal added about 7x the assets of the other two

Disclosed client assets added by each purchase

  • Concurrent / Spire Investment Partners$5.4B
  • Hightower / Sandy Cove$0.75B
  • HB Wealth / Wealth Care$0.7B
Source: Deal announcements · Oct 2026
Show as table
ItemValue ($B)
Concurrent / Spire Investment Partners$5.4B
Hightower / Sandy Cove$0.75B
HB Wealth / Wealth Care$0.7B

Three acquisitions, no purchase prices

None of the three acquisitions carried a disclosed purchase price, which makes the stretch a poor one for anyone trying to benchmark RIA multiples and fits what these buyers went after. A book of business can be argued about in terms of revenue or assets; 30 teams, a seventh market and a payroll channel are harder to hang on a multiple. The likely consequence is that consideration in deals of this type tracks what it would cost to build the capacity rather than the price of the assets themselves.

TransactionStatusAssetsPurchase price
Concurrent / Spire Investment PartnersClosed, asset purchaseMore than 30 advisor teams; about $5.4BNot disclosed
HB Wealth Management / Wealth Care (Austin)Closed Sept. 30About $700MNot disclosed
Hightower / Sandy CoveAgreed$752MNot disclosed
Arax / KingsRockPartnershipServices onlyNo price or equity stake named

Arax reached for the same capability without buying anything, adding private capital markets services through a partnership with KingsRock that covers capital raising, structured financing and strategic advisory for Arax clients; no price and no equity stake were named, and the coverage does not say whether any ownership changed hands. Measured against the three transactions, the arrangement adds a private-markets function without adding a payroll, a market or a team, and for a firm positioning itself between clients and private capital that is the cheaper path.

Retention is the test from here. Concurrent has to hold teams that arrived as a group rather than being courted one at a time, and Hightower Signature Wealth would hold more than $40 billion once Sandy Cove closes, with a fourth external acquisition in that channel the next question the W-2 strategy invites. Whether Concurrent's next purchase is another platform-sized one, or a return to single practices, is the next thing to watch; the announcements carried no figure that answers either.

Reported by the Deals & PE desk from PWD deal coverage (week_deal_coverage). Published . Updated Oct 26, 2026 · 10:47 p.m. ET. Corrections

Related

Deals & PE

Concurrent announces $5.4B Spire purchase and $3B–$10B platform target

Concurrent's first platform purchase adds more than 30 advisor teams and lifts pro forma assets to $28.6 billion.

PWD AnalysisFeatures

Hightower announced three RIA deals and closed none in 90 days

Wealth managers announced 156 deals and closed 50 in 90 days, so sellers should price buyers on closes, committed capital and who stays.

Deals & PE

Concurrent announces Spire platform purchase, adding $5.4 billion with no price disclosed

The Tampa hybrid says the Spire purchase brings more than 30 advisor teams, and four wealth additions this week name $8.55 billion in client assets.

PWD AnalysisDeals & PE

Seven real estate deals total $1.22 billion on Oct. 27

The three closings averaged $209.9 million, against $147 million for the four deals that were announced.

Deals & PE

Four CGF series sell $1.6 million; iCapital, 8VC report zero

The four Oct. 26 Form Ds show $75,000 to $734,000 per series; iCapital and 8VC vehicles disclosed no sales.

Private Wealth DailyThe morning edition

The private wealth industry in four minutes, every morning at 6:30 a.m. ET. Free.

Free. Every morning. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections