Skip to content
Thursday, October 29, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETThu, Oct 29 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in
AnalysisPrivate CreditThe WrapThe Credit Open

Debtwire counts 39 French H1 2026 restructuring mandates as lenders take ownership

The 39 mandates cover €14.57bn of debt, and Alvarez & Marsal ties lenders' stronger hand to a 2021 cram-down reform.

At a glance

  1. Spread across those 39 mandates, the €14.57bn works out to roughly €374m of debt per mandate on average.
  2. Alvarez & Marsal ties lenders' stronger hand in these restructurings to a 2021 cram-down reform, according to the Debtwire coverage.
  3. Who ended up owning what is not spelled out.

Debtwire counted 39 restructuring mandates in France in the first half of 2026, covering €14.57bn of debt, and frames the period as one in which lenders took ownership.

Spread across those 39 mandates, the €14.57bn works out to roughly €374m of debt per mandate on average. That figure is a calculation from the two numbers Debtwire published, not a disclosed deal size; the coverage does not break out what any single mandate carried.

Alvarez & Marsal ties lenders' stronger hand in these restructurings to a 2021 cram-down reform, according to the Debtwire coverage. That link is the adviser's characterization of the creditor position, not something the mandate count demonstrates by itself.

Who ended up owning what is not spelled out. The coverage does not say whether the lenders taking ownership were banks, direct lending funds or other holders, and it does not report recoveries, so the €14.57bn measures the volume of mandates Debtwire tallied rather than what creditors got back.

For private credit readers, the count is a volume marker for French restructurings rather than a scorecard. Whether the ownership pattern runs through direct lenders specifically is not something the tally answers; the lender mix behind those 39 mandates is not reported.

Reported by The Wrap desk from Debtwire. Published . Updated Oct 28, 2026 · 2:57 p.m. ET. Corrections

Related

Private Credit

Debtwire counts 39 French H1 2026 restructuring mandates as lenders take ownership

The 39 mandates cover €14.57bn of debt, and Alvarez & Marsal attributes lenders' stronger hand to a 2021 cram-down reform.

Private Credit

France records 39 restructuring mandates in H1 2026 as lenders take ownership

Debtwire counted €14.57bn of debt across those mandates; Alvarez & Marsal ties creditors' stronger hand to a 2021 cram-down reform.

Private Credit

Audax-Churchill tie shows a market moving to bigger loans

Flat first-half volume masks a market doing fewer, larger loans, with Audax and Churchill tied at No. 1.

Private Credit

Tree Line and KKR keep loans in continuation vehicles

AllianzGI led KKR's first direct lending continuation vehicle, which holds mostly senior US loans, and its size was not disclosed.

Private Credit

Private credit liability management deals hit 14

Eleven of the deals raised new money and 65 names sit in the pipeline, according to 9fin.

Private Credit Dailyfrom Private Wealth Daily

Direct lending, asset-based finance, BDCs and evergreen credit funds. Daily at 7:15 a.m. ET.

Free. Every morning. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections