Skip to content
Thursday, October 29, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETThu, Oct 29 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in

Irvine sells One North Wacker to Ortega's Ponte Gadea for $550M

The buyer assumes a $353 million CMBS loan Irvine took out in 2021, and the price is about $11 million above Irvine's combined 2011 and 2015 purchase price.

At a glance

  1. Connect CRE reported the sale, citing Crain's, and put the price at about $550 million.
  2. Irvine bought the tower from Hines Interests in two transactions, in 2011 and 2015, for a total of $539 million, per Connect CRE.
  3. At about $550 million on 1.4 million square feet, the price works out to roughly $393 a square foot.

Irvine Company has sold One North Wacker, a 51-story, 1.4 million-square-foot office tower in Chicago, to Ponte Gadea, the family investment firm of Zara founder Amancio Ortega.

Connect CRE reported the sale, citing Crain's, and put the price at about $550 million. The buyer assumes a $353 million CMBS loan that Irvine secured in 2021, according to the report. Bryan Rosenberg of Eastdil Secured Savills brokered the sale.

Irvine bought the tower from Hines Interests in two transactions, in 2011 and 2015, for a total of $539 million, per Connect CRE. The sale price is about $11 million, or roughly 2%, above that combined price. Before that, a Hines Interests venture paid $540 million for the building in 2008.

At about $550 million on 1.4 million square feet, the price works out to roughly $393 a square foot.

The $353 million assumption covers about 64% of the purchase price, implying roughly $197 million of equity from Ponte Gadea before closing costs. The loan's coupon and maturity were not disclosed.

The tower was completed in 2001 by The John Buck Company and is 94% occupied, according to the report. PRED reported in August that Irvine's Chicago offices were 87% leased, a portfolio-level figure covering the landlord's fiscal year. Occupancy at one building and leased percentages across a portfolio are not the same measure.

One North Wacker has changed hands near $540M for 18 years

Purchase price by transaction, $ millions

$540M2008 (Hines venture)$539M2011–2015 (Irvine, combined)$550M2026 (Ponte Gadea)$540M2008 (Hines venture)$539M2011–2015 (Irvine, combined)$550M2026 (Ponte Gadea)$540M2008 (Hines venture)$539M$550M2026 (Ponte Gadea)
Source: Connect CRE / Crain's · 2011–2015 figure is two Irvine deals combined
Show as table
LabelValue ($M)
2008 (Hines venture)$540M
2011–2015 (Irvine, combined)$539M
2026 (Ponte Gadea)$550M

Reported by the Deals desk from Connect CRE. Published . Corrections

Related

Real Estate

Orange County apartment sales climb 15.6% as unit prices fall

Yardi Matrix puts the average sale at $376,551 a unit, down 14.8% from year-end 2025, while asking rent rose 1.4% to $2,897 a month.

Real Estate

Taco Bell's 254,162-square-foot lease is Orange County's largest in five years

JLL data show countywide vacancy down to 15.4 percent and average asking rents up to $3.02 per square foot per month.

Real Estate

Parkside Partners buys Atlanta's 1355 Peachtree tower, plans seven-figure renovation

The Banyan Street-led seller paid $60.3 million for the 21-story building in 2015, according to the Atlanta Business Chronicle; the current sale price was not reported.

Real Estate

Apricus buys leased Texas IOS site with ABR

The 1.43-acre La Porte property is fully leased to Sage Envirotech and sits near the Barbours Cut container terminal.

Real Estate

Evelyn Capital buys Franklin office for $31M, 29% below 2019

TA Realty sold the 156,000-square-foot Two Greenway Centre, which last traded at $43.5 million.

Private Real Estate Dailyfrom Private Wealth Daily

Non-traded REITs, data centers, industrial and manager fundraising. Daily at 7:20 a.m. ET.

Free. Every morning. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections