Skip to content
Thursday, October 29, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETThu, Oct 29 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in

JLL and GA Group close $74.7 million sale-leaseback on 47 Family Dollar stores

The 387,945-square-foot portfolio spans 19 states and follows a $75 million, 46-property Family Dollar trade by the same two intermediaries earlier in the year.

At a glance

  1. The two intermediaries exclusively represented the seller, FD Retail Properties LLC; the buyer appears in the coverage only as an institutional real estate investor.
  2. At roughly $1.6 million per property—about $193 a square foot with the average store near 8,250 square feet—the trade is small-format discount retail, one tenant behind each roof, and its spread across 19 states means no single market's rent sets the price.
  3. The stated rationale leans on breadth and duration rather than location.

JLL's net lease team and GA Group Real Estate closed a $74.7 million sale-leaseback covering 47 Family Dollar stores spanning 19 states and 387,945 square feet, the firms announced, with Connect CRE reporting the closing. The two intermediaries exclusively represented the seller, FD Retail Properties LLC; the buyer appears in the coverage only as an institutional real estate investor.

At roughly $1.6 million per property—about $193 a square foot with the average store near 8,250 square feet—the trade is small-format discount retail, one tenant behind each roof, and its spread across 19 states means no single market's rent sets the price.

The closing lands next to the pair's first Family Dollar trade of 2026, a $75 million, 46-property portfolio that closed earlier in the year, putting the two deals at 93 stores and just under $150 million of lease-backed retail through the same two intermediaries in a single calendar year.

The stated rationale leans on breadth and duration rather than location. In the firms' telling, the multi-state footprint gives buyers risk mitigation built into the geography, long-term tenancy supplies the income, and the structure gives the retailer flexibility to fund growth while keeping its footprint and operational continuity at every location.

$1.6 million a door, twice over

The coverage does not disclose a cap rate, a lease term, or per-market pricing, leaving the per-foot figure as the only pricing evidence on the table. Retail's scarcity premium, as this publication has argued, has split between grocery anchors and drive-through boxes while everything else reprices tenant by tenant. A dollar-store portfolio belongs to neither favored category, so clearing twice in a year at nearly identical per-door pricing suggests the bid for these boxes is set by the lease and the credit behind it, not by scarcity of the real estate.

The buyer's identity remains the open item. At an average $1.6 million per store, one institutional buyer could absorb the whole portfolio without partners, though nothing in the report says whether that is what happened; whether a fund, a net-lease aggregator or a private buyer took it down is not established on this record.

The pair's 2026 tally now stands at just under $150 million across 93 stores. A third portfolio in the same size range would turn that into a program.

Reported by the Fundraising desk from Connect CRE. Published . Corrections

Related

Real Estate

JLL arranges $135M debt and equity for Yonkers apartment tower

Bank OZK is the senior construction lender and Eagle Realty Group the LP equity investor on the 282-unit Ibex at Ridge Hill.

Real Estate

Lincoln, DRA buy 299,000 SF Portland industrial portfolio

The five-building portfolio is fully leased to eight tenants across two parks.

Real Estate

JLL arranges MF1 loan on Lightstone's $88 million Manhattan buy

JLL's Peter Rotchford and Michael Shmuely placed the debt with MF1 for the 15-story, 2004-built rental; terms were not disclosed.

Real Estate

William Warren adds nine properties to $196M self-storage fund

Investors in the contributed properties rolled about 80% of their equity into fund units through a Section 721 exchange.

Real Estate

Kimco takes preferred equity in Fritz Farm recap

Newmark arranged $104 million of senior financing from Blackstone-managed funds for Hendricks Commercial Properties' Lexington center.

Private Real Estate Dailyfrom Private Wealth Daily

Non-traded REITs, data centers, industrial and manager fundraising. Daily at 7:20 a.m. ET.

Free. Every morning. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections