Skip to content
Thursday, October 29, 2026 · Today’s edition, 6:30 a.m. ETThu, Oct 29 · 6:30 a.m. editionSign inMy Desk 0EditionsSign in

Pine Tree buys SITE Centers sponsor stake in $644M retail portfolio

The 10-property, 3.5 million-square-foot portfolio spans nine states and is primarily grocery-anchored; terms were not disclosed.

At a glance

  1. The interest came from SITE Centers, which owned it with a large international investor that the report does not name.
  2. Its tenants include Target, Sam's Club, Publix, ALDI, Sprouts Farmers Market, Food Lion, The Fresh Market, Lowe's, DICK'S Sporting Goods, Best Buy, Marshalls, HomeGoods and Ross Dress for Less.
  3. Peter Borzak, Pine Tree's CEO and co-founder, said the deal is the second off-market portfolio transaction between the two firms, with combined asset value above $1.1 billion.

Pine Tree has acquired the sponsor interest in a 10-property shopping center portfolio totaling 3.5 million square feet and recently appraised at $644 million, according to Connect CRE. The interest came from SITE Centers, which owned it with a large international investor that the report does not name. Terms were not disclosed, and the $644 million is a recent appraisal of the real estate, not a disclosed price for the interest Pine Tree bought.

The portfolio spans nine states in top-50 U.S. markets and is primarily grocery-anchored. Its tenants include Target, Sam's Club, Publix, ALDI, Sprouts Farmers Market, Food Lion, The Fresh Market, Lowe's, DICK'S Sporting Goods, Best Buy, Marshalls, HomeGoods and Ross Dress for Less.

Peter Borzak, Pine Tree's CEO and co-founder, said the deal is the second off-market portfolio transaction between the two firms, with combined asset value above $1.1 billion. He called it the largest in Pine Tree's 31-year history. The transaction lifts Pine Tree's assets under management above $4 billion, the company said.

In a smaller recent grocery-anchored deal, Phillips Edison paid $69.1 million this month for a Publix-anchored center in Oviedo, Florida.

Reported by the Deals desk from Connect CRE. Published . Corrections

Related

Real Estate

Phillips Edison pays $69.1M for Publix-anchored Oviedo center

The 168,532-square-foot Seminole County center is 96% occupied; JLL represented a seller joint venture that includes MCB Real Estate.

Real Estate

Phillips Edison adds $377.5 million of grocery centers to Northwestern Mutual joint venture

The amended venture runs a decade longer, to 2036, and keeps PECO leasing and managing the centers for recurring fees.

Real Estate

Namdar pays $62M for 71 Fifth Avenue leasehold

The leasehold price is below the $150 million floated in 2021 and the nearly $85 million Madison Capital agreed to pay upfront in 2016.

Real Estate

Standard Real Estate and Endeavor sell 174,288 sq ft Cobalt center

The Mendota Heights industrial property was fully pre-leased before completion and sold to a private investor, with financial terms undisclosed.

Real Estate

Lincoln, DRA buy 299,000 SF Portland industrial portfolio

The five-building portfolio is fully leased to eight tenants across two parks.

Private Real Estate Dailyfrom Private Wealth Daily

Non-traded REITs, data centers, industrial and manager fundraising. Daily at 7:20 a.m. ET.

Free. Every morning. Unsubscribe from any edition in one click.

From other sections