Real Estate archive
Every Real Estate story, newest first. 1,870 stories
21 stories
- Sectors
I Squared-backed CubeCold names Kurt Pierloot CEO
Pierloot, formerly Bleckmann’s chief executive, takes over a platform with more than 30 facilities, 650,000 pallet positions and 14 acquisitions since 2021.
- Deals
Avison Young to market 302-unit Uptown Charlotte apartments
Creek Lane and Proffitt Dixon bought the 2.6-acre site in January 2017 for $4.5 million; the county's latest assessment of the finished building is $90.3 million.
- Sectors
More apartment developers report fewer starts, NMHC survey says
Twenty-nine percent of respondents said their firms started fewer projects than three months earlier, up from 20% in June, and half expect construction conditions to improve over the next 6-12 months.
- Deals
Longpoint buys 10-building Miami-Dade industrial portfolio for $195 million
Longpoint acquired the 729,901-square-foot portfolio at about $267 a square foot; Brookfield Asset Management was the seller.
- Fundraising
Elevest Capital launches Fund 70 to buy a Dallas multifamily tower
The Scottsdale firm is raising $19.1 million for the $42 million purchase of the 229-unit, 35-story tower, projecting a 15.6 percent IRR over a two-to-five-year hold.
- Deals
IPA brokers $58.7M North Phoenix apartment sale from D.R. Horton
The 260-unit Ascend at Black Canyon, completed in 2024, trades at $225,769 a unit with no cap rate disclosed.
- Deals
Brixmor and Everview JV to acquire Slate Grocery REIT at $2.3 billion enterprise value
Unitholders are offered $13.00 a unit in cash, about a 20 percent premium to the Sept. 23 close, the last trading day before the REIT announced it was suspending distributions.
- Deals
Parkside Partners buys Atlanta's 1355 Peachtree tower, plans seven-figure renovation
The Banyan Street-led seller paid $60.3 million for the 21-story building in 2015, according to the Atlanta Business Chronicle; the current sale price was not reported.
- Sectors
Retail buyers split between net lease and shopping centers, Marcus & Millichap reports
Retail assets renovated in the past five years traded above $700 per square foot over the trailing 12 months, the report says.
- Deals
M&G Real Estate sells Frontier Shinjuku Tower 15 months early after 23% NOI gain
The 298-unit Nishi-Shinjuku building was bought in December 2023 under M&G's value-added mandate; the sale price and buyer were not disclosed.
- Real estate debt
Walker & Dunlop arranges $238 million floating-rate bridge for The Landmark South
Torchlight Investors funds the interest-only loan on 631 units at the Doral apartment property for JSB Capital.
- Sectors
City of London core office vacancy falls to 9.6%, lowest since mid-2020
Four- and five-star space absorbed 2 million square feet over the year while three-star stock gave back 150,000, even as second-quarter leasing contracted.
- Sectors
Goleta quantum computing sector produces $235 million sale and a Google purchase
Colliers brokered the March recapitalization and sale of a 733,000-square-foot Goleta tech park to Praelium, and Google bought two more buildings in Goleta in August.
- Real estate debt
Office CMBS delinquency hits 13.2%, highest since at least 2019
Special servicing climbed to 15.7%, and a cohort of 93 office loans that transferred while current shows how little early intervention has bought.
- Real estate debt
Mavik lends $299M to Empire for 533-unit Tempe apartment towers
The two-tower Revelry complex near Arizona State University will carry more than 100,000 square feet of amenities.
- Deals
Brixmor to buy 23 Slate Grocery centers for $636M; Everview JV takes 92
A joint venture with Everview affiliates and an Abu Dhabi Investment Authority subsidiary will pay $1.71 billion for the remaining assets.
- The Wrap
Crescent Heights files 1,030-unit Live Local plan for Miami's Edgewater
The proposal reserves 412 apartments at up to 120 percent of area median income and seeks a 50 percent parking reduction after multifamily starts fell nearly 22 percent in August.
- Real estate debt
Treasury yields hit 19-year highs, repricing CRE debt and development
The 10-year touched 5.1 percent and the 30-year 5.4 percent on Sept. 23, a week after the Fed raised its policy rate to a 3.75%-4% range.
- The Wrap
Oracle's rent notice and PJM's curtailment plan test who carries grid risk
A mutual-consent force majeure clause turns an $18 billion data-center debt stack into a negotiation over when the rent stops.
- Real estate debt
Multifamily starts fell nearly 22% in August as CRE debt funds held record dry powder
A record $56 billion in CRE debt-fund dry powder is chasing the few construction projects whose sponsors can clear the equity check.
- Sectors
CBRE survey finds half of Asia-Pacific occupiers plan to expand offices
Attendance has reached what the survey calls a steady state, and the same occupiers favour premium buildings in central business districts.
3 stories
- Fundraising
Georgia-Pacific abandons Atlanta conversion as diesel and materials costs break budgets
Construction materials prices rose 13.3% year over year and diesel topped $6.50 a gallon at an all-time high, according to industry and federal data.
- Sectors
What PJM's data center curtailment plan means for project pro formas
PJM has asked federal regulators to approve a framework that would let it cut power to new data centers that add no capacity to the grid.
- Sectors
Crescent Heights files 1,030-unit Live Local plan for Miami's Edgewater
The two-tower proposal at 3180 Biscayne Boulevard sets aside 412 apartments at up to 120 percent of area median income and seeks a 50 percent parking reduction.
16 stories
- Real estate debt
TYKO funds 873 Jersey City units; the second tower is the tell
One lender for one tower leaves the second phase of a 1,542-unit plan as the only real read on Journal Square construction pricing.
- Sectors
Multifamily's generational trade sits in the debt stack
Lenders installing receivers and hunting recourse carve-outs are setting the 2026 clearing basis before any buyer reaches a purchase contract.
- Deals
The federal government is now the Washington office market's buyer of last resort
A $285 million Falls Church purchase retires a rent bill and pulls a 1954-vintage Class B campus off the private market
- Fundraising
Public pensions are buying the apartment supply gap through a closed-end fund
Six public retirement systems and a $158 million Connecticut acquisition reveal more about this vintage than the $2 billion target.
- Deals
Hudson Pacific sells the capex, keeps the leasing bet
At roughly $231 a square foot with entitlements already secured, the buyer of 875 and 899 Howard is paying for a San Francisco leasing option while Hudson Pacific takes the re-leasing bill off a 2027 calendar.
- Real estate debt
Oracle's rent notice reprices $18 billion of data center debt
A force majeure clause that needs both parties' consent has turned a Big Tech lease into a negotiation over who carries the energization risk.
- Deals
Legion and SMA debt-fund a tower that doesn't exist yet
A $99 million loan carries the sponsors through demolition on three Upper East Side parcels, which puts the risk exactly where no income statement can reach it.
- Real estate debt
PIMCO's triple-A takes 44 cents as Centre Square reprices SASB office
A court-approved $70 million sale has repriced PIMCO's triple-A Centre Square position to roughly 44 cents, putting losses on the tranche that was never supposed to take them.
- Deals
A $99M loan prices twenty years of Upper East Side assemblage
The construction loan runs $34.5 million over the parcels' combined $64.5 million acquisition cost, and the sellout risk stays with the sponsors.
- Deals
A 2.4% Decade: Fairview Apartments Trade at $177,272 a Door
The 30% headline gain on a 2015 purchase compounds to roughly 2.4% a year, and the buyer wrote the check for income.
- Deals
Strauss pays $204 a foot for Valencia office, buying the lease-up
The sale lands within a dollar a foot of the Brea office building, so the return is in the empty fifth rather than the renovation Harbor completed in 2020.
- Fundraising
GCM Grosvenor seeds Hyperion's grocery retail fund with $200M
The $97B asset manager takes a board seat and a value-add pipeline in Western markets, wagering that grocery anchors hold their pricing power while the rest of retail reprices.
- Real estate debt
Extell's $3.8 billion ask tests who still gets jumbo construction debt
JPMorgan is in talks to lead the loan for an 86-story condo tower on the former ABC site, after Vornado secured $3.3 billion for 350 Park Avenue.
- Sectors
NorthPoint JV breaks ground on the first 12 percent of a $750 million industrial plan
The Haslet cross-dock starts with no disclosed tenant, while the other eight buildings remain off the construction calendar.
- Deals
EquiCap closes a 210-unit storage sale a month early
The early close is the only hard evidence of operational upside, and no price says what the seller gave up.
- The Wrap
Retail's clearing price is now an anchor commitment
A half-fund anchor, $72.3 million of mezzanine and an undisclosed all-cash sale are the week's retail marks; whole-asset comps have stopped printing.