Digital Assets archive
Every Digital Assets story, newest first. 459 stories
1 story
- Tokenization
JPYC misses first-year target with 3.2 billion yen in circulation
CEO Noritaka Okabe attributes the shortfall partly to a 1 million yen per-request issuance cap.
2 stories
- Regulation
Canada proposes stablecoin yield ban, opens 60-day consultation
Submissions are due Dec. 23; final rules would bring the Stablecoin Act into force.
- Regulation
Apex CEO warns Clarity Act delay risks losing crypto business to Asia
Peter Hughes says Europe won't gain from Washington's setback despite MiCA; Apex separately announced a Saudi tokenization partnership this month.
4 stories
- Adoption
Xapo CEO says wealthy bitcoin holders turn to loans and yield
About 45% of Xapo's customers earn interest in bitcoin on dollar balances, CEO Seamus Rocca told CoinDesk.
- Adoption
Preferred sales financed purchases of 136,000 bitcoin
Strategy's STRC pays a variable dividend around 12%, CoinShares says; the preferreds sit between debt and common equity and carry no voting rights.
- Tokenization
OKXICE tokenized-stock opt-outs hit 22 as Wells Fargo and Cisco object
The six include Arm, Moderna, Intuit and Marvell; an objection binds only that venue, CoinDesk reports.
- Tokenization
Franklin Templeton adds $150 million sgBENJI to XRP Ledger
All $150 million went to one wallet that shares its eight signers with Franklin's issuing account, CoinDesk's ledger review found.
6 stories
- Regulation
Blumenthal asks Tether for details of payments to Bo Hines' firm
The ranking Democrat on the Senate investigations subcommittee sent letters to Tether and Nxum Group on Thursday.
- Custody & Infrastructure
Central Bank of Ireland fines Coinbase Ireland €3.25m over client-fund safeguarding
The regulator faulted the unit's outsourcing governance; Coinbase says coding errors underfunded its safeguarding account by an average 0.54% and that no client lost money.
- The Wrap
BaFin authorizes Deutsche Bank for crypto custody
German launch still needs approval; Asia plan for 2027 names no market
- The Wrap
Securitize shares fall 38% since Solana tokenized-stock launch
Twelve tokenized stocks trade through Securitize's broker-dealer on Solana; Jump Trading is the market maker.
- The Wrap
HSBC rolls out RedCoin stablecoin to PayMe's 3.3 million users
The Hong Kong dollar token is fully backed by high-quality liquid assets in separate accounts; a tokenized money market fund share class is next.
- Tokenization
HSBC rolls out RedCoin stablecoin to PayMe's 3.3 million users
The Hong Kong dollar token is fully backed by high-quality liquid assets in separate accounts; a tokenized money market fund share class is next.
7 stories
- Tokenization
Securitize shares fall 38% since Apple, Nvidia token launch on Solana
The 12 tokenized US stocks trade through Securitize’s broker-dealer on Solana with Jump Trading as market maker, but no volume or holder data have been published.
- Adoption
a16z renames crypto fund a16z Frontier and adds AI to mandate
Chris Dixon will lead the renamed fund with Marc Andreessen, Ben Horowitz, Eddy Lazzarin and Guy Wuollet; the firm says it will continue crypto investing.
- Adoption
EY-Parthenon survey: 69% of financial-institution respondents offer or plan stablecoin services within two years
Corporate production use doubled to 18% in the 521-respondent survey, with cross-border B2B payments the most common use case.
- Custody & Infrastructure
Fireblocks denies Visa acquisition talks after Axios reports $2.5 billion approach
A $2.5 billion sale would value Fireblocks at a 69% discount to the $8 billion valuation it reported in 2022.
- The Wrap
Ripple Prime says it offers round-the-clock swaps on 100-plus markets as HSBC flags thin depth
The brokerage formerly known as Hidden Road announced the service on Oct. 15, with Virtu already trading.
- The Wrap
Vault12 says SEC token safe harbor keeps VGT off exchanges
The wallet-backup firm raised $17.45 million in a 2018 token sale and says exchanges want assurance the SEC will not later challenge VGT.
- Crypto ETFs & funds
US spot bitcoin ETFs pull in over $1 billion this week
CoinDesk, citing SoSoValue, compares the haul with the $235 million daily average across the 199 trading days of bitcoin's three steep rallies.
5 stories
- Crypto ETFs & funds
BlackRock files for iShares Bitcoin Managed Protect ETF using $65 billion IBIT
The filing does not specify the downside-protection level and follows a similar Calamos product.
- Regulation
Vault12 tells SEC token safe harbor leaves exchanges unwilling to list VGT
The wallet-backup firm raised $17.45 million in a 2018 token sale and says exchanges want assurance the SEC won't later challenge VGT.
- The Wrap
OCC issues final GENIUS Act stablecoin rule without rewards examples
The rule adds a sign-off requirement for payment stablecoin rewards and takes effect January 18.
- Regulation
OCC issues first federal banking GENIUS Act final rule; stablecoin rewards need sign-off
The rule takes effect January 18 and offers no examples of which rewards arrangements cross the law's ban on payments made solely in connection with holding, use, or retention of a payment stablecoin.
- Tokenization
Ripple Prime opens 24/7 swaps on 100-plus markets; HSBC flags thin depth
The brokerage, formerly known as Hidden Road, announced the service on Oct. 15, with Virtu already trading; HSBC calls the step “evolutionary, not revolutionary.”
6 stories
- Regulation
CFTC Innovation Task Force will hold Oct. 28 forum on AI and agentic trading
The first Frontier Forum session will cover machine intelligence's effect on price discovery and risk management, and how traders' AI agents fit under CFTC rules.
- Tokenization
Bank Negara Malaysia launches in-house depository for tokenized bonds and sukuk
SSDS+ extends the central bank's existing scripless depository and can settle in central bank money around the clock once integrated with RENTAS+, according to Ledger Insights.
- Crypto ETFs & funds
BlackRock files for downside-protected bitcoin ETF, following Calamos
The iShares Bitcoin Managed Protect ETF would build on the $65 billion IBIT; the filing did not specify how much protection it offers.
- Regulation
France's National Assembly adopts amendment ending crypto-to-stablecoin tax deferral
The Oct. 16 vote was 38 to 37, with 25 abstentions; swaps into MiCA-defined e-money tokens would lose tax deferral from Jan. 1, 2027, triggering the default 31.4% rate.
- Tokenization
Microsoft, Alphabet and Goldman Sachs join OKX-ICE tokenized stock objections
The Oct. 19 notice lists 16 objecting issuers, up from nine, leaving 47 of the 62 companies in the original roster without a disclosed objection.
- Crypto ETFs & funds
Spot bitcoin ETFs net $526.6 million Monday as BlackRock's IBIT drew $665.2 million
Fidelity's FBTC lost $83.6 million and Grayscale's GBTC shed $54.9 million, leaving the group about $90.5 million in the red for October.
3 stories
- The Wrap
OKXICE notice lists nine objectors including Broadcom, Verizon and UnitedHealth
The October 15 notice names eight newly disclosed objectors among the nine, without reasons or dates.
- The Wrap
JPMorgan plans JPM Coin on Ethereum for approved counterparties
The bank cited public-chain liquidity; The Block reported peer-to-peer transfers within the Ethereum Virtual Machine ecosystem, including Base.
- Tokenization
JPMorgan extends JPM Coin deposit token to Ethereum for approved counterparties
The USD-denominated token now supports peer-to-peer transfers within the Ethereum Virtual Machine ecosystem, including Base, The Block reported.
2 stories
- Custody & Infrastructure
Deutsche Bank plans 2027 Asia crypto custody as German launch nears
BaFin authorized the bank under the EU's Markets in Crypto-Assets rules on Oct. 12; the German launch remains subject to regulatory approval.
- Tokenization
Broadcom, Verizon and UnitedHealth among eight newly disclosed OKXICE objectors
An October 15 OKXICE notice lists nine objecting issuers in all but does not disclose why they objected or when.
1 story
- Tokenization
Wells Fargo tokenized deposits move cross-border payments in two minutes or less
None of the three banks put a revenue figure on the opportunity; Goldman's Solomon calls the activity 'small and at the margin.'
3 stories
- The Wrap
Evernorth names Ripple, Kraken, Coinbase and BitGo for $648M XRP treasury
The company describes the lending and yield work as phased and has not detailed the counterparties' roles, terms or timetable.
- The Wrap
MSCI finalizes index rules that could remove Strategy and Metaplanet from global equity indexes
Affected companies will be named Nov. 11; the change takes effect at the close of Nov. 30.
- Custody & Infrastructure
Quantum Alliance forms as 6.4 million bitcoin have exposed public keys
The nine-company group says the exposure is not exploitable by any existing machine, and it is drafting standards for bitcoin, Ethereum and other networks.